Other North Caroliniana Society Awards

North Caroliniana Book Award

The North Caroliniana Society established the North Caroliniana Book Award in 2003 to recognize annually “the book that captures the essence of North Carolina by contributing powerfully to an understanding of the state.” Authors are eligible regardless of residency. However, neither authors nor publishers submit books; instead, a committee privately surveys all books published during the year and chooses the volume that it believes “makes a positive contribution and appears to have the best chance of standing the test of time as a classic volume of North Caroliniana.” The winner is invited to accept the award (an engraved silver cup) during the following year’s annual meeting of the Society, and his of her name is engraved on a sterling silver bowl exhibited with other statewide literary awards in the Archives and Building in Raleigh. Recipients of the North Caroliniana Book Award, with year of publication, have been:

2003 - Catherine W. Bishir and Michael T. Southern for A Guide to the Historic Architecture of Piedmont North Carolina (University of North Carolina Press).

2004 - Timothy B. Tyson for Blood Done Sign My Name: A True Story (Crown Publishers).

2005 - Joe Mobley for “War Governor of the South”: North Carolina’s Zeb Vance in the Confederacy (University Press of Florida).

2006 - William S. Powell for Encyclopedia of North Carolina (University of North Carolina Press).

2007 - Karl E. Campbell for Senator Sam: Last of the Founding Fathers (University of North Carolina Press).

2008 - Anna Ragland Hayes for Without Precedent: The Life of Susie Marshall Sharp (University of North Carolina Press).

2009 - Mark L. Bradley for Bluecoats and Tar Heels: Soldiers and Civilians in Reconstruction North Carolina (Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2009).

2010 - Robert R. Korstad and James L. Leloudis for To Right These Wrongs: The North Carolina Fund and the Battle to End Poverty and Inequality in 1960s America (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2010).

2011 - David Silkenat for Moments of Despair: Suicide, Divorce, & Debt in Civil War Era North Carolina (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2011).

2012 - David S. Cecelski for The Fire of Freedom: Abraham Galloway & the Slaves' Civil War (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2012).

2013 - Sarah Caroline Thuesen for Greater than Equal: African American Struggles for Schools and Citizenship in North Carolina, 1919-1965 (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2013).

2014 - Jeffrey Reaser and Walt Wolfram for Talkin' Tar Heel: How Our Voices Tell the Story of North Carolina (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2014).

2015 - Jessica Bandel, Michael Hill, and Mark Anderson Moore for The Old North State at War: The North Carolina Civil War Atlas (Raleigh: North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, 2015).

William Stevens Powell Award

The William Stevens Powell Award was established in 2002 by the North Caroliniana Society in honor of the Society’s first president, long-time vice-president, and distinguished historian. The award recognizes a graduating senior in The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill who is judged to have contributed most to an understanding of the history and traditions of the first state university. The winner receives a gift and an autographed copy of Professor Powell’s book, The First State University, and his or her name is engraved on a silver plaque that is displayed in the North Carolina Collection’s Reading Room in Wilson Library. Recipients have been:

2002 - Eric David Johnson.

2004 - Jonathan Slain.

2008 - Eve Marie Carson.

2011 - Frank O'Hale.

2015 - Isaac Warshauer

H. G. Jones North Carolina History Prizes

Beginning in 1998, the North Caroliniana Society has furnished two cash prizes for winning student projects in statewide National History Day Competition administered by the North Carolina Office of Archives and History and the Federation of North Carolina Historical Societies. The prizes encourage the learning of history through research leading to papers, performances, or audiovisual productions. In the list below, the first recipient(s) represented the junior division (grades six through eight) and the second represented the senior division (grades nine through twelve):

1998 - Jenna and Kathryn Wooten, St. Peter’s School, Greenville; Jonathan Reside, E.E. Smith High School, Fayetteville.

1999 - Megan Boskop, St. Peter’s School, Greenville; Eron Earley-Thiele, J.H. Rose High School, Greenville.

2000 - Jennifer Wolfe, Cherokee Middle School; Amie Garner, J.H. Rose High School, Greenville.

2001 - Emma Patti, A.C. Reynolds Middle School, Asheville; Amie and Ashley Garner, J. H. Rose High School, Greenville.

2002 - Julia Lockamy, A.C. Reynolds Middle School, Asheville; Elia Bizzarri, Justice Street Home School, Pittsboro.

2003 - Bryan Kossol, Jake Harrington, Matthew Miller, and Worth Williams, Greenville Elementary School; Emma Patti, Fairview High School.

2004 - Stephen Gordon II, Four Oaks Home School, Asheville; Laura Sabato and Rebecca Webb, Owens High School, Black Mountain.

2005 - Stephen Gordon II, Four Oaks Home School, Asheville; Kelsey Forrest and Emily Fusco, A.C. Reynolds High School Asheville.

2006 - Allison Hill and Carly Cutspec, A.C. Reynolds Middle School, Asheville; Kelsey Forrest and Emily Fusco, A.C. Reynolds High School, Asheville

2007 - Teena Coates, Troi Perkins, and Lauren Carroway, Greene County Middle School, Snow Hill; Mary Withers, Owens High School, Swannanoa.

2008 - Will Scarborough and Jonathan Tameellini, A.C. Reynolds Middle School, Asheville; Mary Barrett, A.C. Reynolds High School, Asheville.

2009 - Helen Mary Hamilton, St. Peter's Catholic School, Greenville; Stephen Gordon, Asheville Christian Academy.

2010 - Maggie Sutton, Bryson City Middle School; Janna Peterson and Jamie Mitchell, Charles D. Owen High School, Asheville.

2011 - Hannah Fletcher, Matt Fletcher, and Haddon Fox, St. Nicholas of Tolentine School, Raleigh; Molly Fox, Michaela Burns, and Emily Rundle, Raven Ridge Christian Academy.

2012 - Matthew Shaw, Woodlawn School, Mooresville; Nicole Keyser, Swansboro High School.

2013 - Amanda Biddix, Harris Middle School, Spruce Pine; Brigitte Butler, Sally Crouch, Breanne Elrod, and Sarah Schneider, Cape Fear Academy, Wilmington.

2014 - Alita White and Brittany Smith, E. B. Frink Middle School, La Grange; Erika Struble and Scott Swiger, Alamance Burlington Middle College, Graham.

2015 - Dustin Kirby and Steven Futrell, Central Middle School, Gatesville; Courtney Staton, South Central High School, Winterville.

2016 - Clara Hockenberry, Alden McCall, Journee McMinn, and Nelson Wiggins, Hendersonville Middle School, Hendersonville; Serena Chu, South Central High School, Winterville.

Home  |  Fellowships  |  Imprints  |  North Caroliniana Society Awards  |  Other Awards  |  Membership

The North Caroliniana Society, Inc.
c/o North Carolina Collection
Wilson Library, UNC Campus Box 3930
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599

This page was last updated 22 December 2016